About the City
Hueytown’s rich history began 1815 when William Brown left his family in Tennessee and traveled south until he reached what is known as “Possum Valley”. He drove his stake where the plant of Westfield now operates. He began to clear the land and build a home. After the fall harvest he returned to Tennessee for his family.
In 1825, Abner McGee obtained a track of land, now known as Hueytown. Eleven years later Octavus Spencer entered another tract in the same community. In 1833 Mortimer Jordan purchased thousands of acres from these gentlemen in this community. This estate was sold at auction and otherwise to other people from 1842 to 1866 when the big auction was held.
There came a June freshet that washed everything the Sam Huey family had away on Valley Creek. Sol and Van, sons of Sam Huey, told their father that they were not going to stay where they could not be sure their crops would not be washed away. They were leaving, and he could come with them or stay there. He elected to go with them and so it was that he bought the 1,100 acres of land from the Jordan Estate in 1866.
Development of the area grew rapidly, although it was not until 1960 with a population of 5,500, that the residents of the community realized the need for an incorporated municipality.
For more in depth history:
History of Hueytown by Simon J. Smith (1962)
The History of Hueytown by Mary K. Roberts (1992)